Looking Across the Valley

My parents’ house used to have a large front porch. I can remember my mom and dad sitting out there after dinner during the summer, drinking coffee and watching the sun set.

Last night, from another room, I watched my father get up and push his walker to the front window. He peered out for a few minutes and then hobbled back to his chair.

When I came in, he said, “Just take a look at that out there.”

I walked over to the window and stood where he had stood. The sun was low on the horizon.

“Isn’t that lovely?” he asked. “The sun is… is…” He struggled to find the words.

“It’s setting in the west,” I said.

“Yes, that’s right. The sun is setting in the west, and it’s beautiful,” he said.

One of the best things about this old farmhouse is it’s view across the valley. No one can put a price on that.

This picture was taken one of those first years we lived in the house. (Ignore the kids in front — my hair still doesn’tΒ want to curl the way it’s supposed to, my sister no longer wears cat-eye glasses, my little brother is considerably taller, my oldest brother has passed away, and my middle brother smiles for the camera now.)

 

1968?

The farm across the valley is still there, just a different color. But our fence is long gone. It’s still a lovely view.

14 thoughts on “Looking Across the Valley

  1. oh this is a lovely ‘Past Meets Present’ thank you so much for joining in. Just love the photograph of you all, and so glad your Dad is still enjoying the sunsets. My Dad also has dementia and when he was still at home he loved taking me out to show me.

  2. I absolutely love your words that bring us up to date with your family. May I say that whenever it happened I am so sorry for your loss of your baby brother. You have an amazing knack for drawing the reader in with the simplest and most unpretentious of prose. I feel privileged to read it.

  3. A nice way to share a bit of your past, Sally. My Dad died last October. At 88 he was a good age but I still haven’t got used to not having him around.

    • I don’t know that anyone ever really gets used to losing a parent. My mom has been gone a year and a half — plus she slowly disappeared with Alzheimer’s. I still miss her, though.

  4. I remember my uncle sitting in the yard watching the evening fall. There was no porch on that house. I miss a porch on my house now too. I’m glad your dad still enjoys the sunset. I hope he gets to sit outside and watch it sometimes. Getting old is so hard.

    Finding Eliza

Leave a Reply

