The Voice (a book review)

I wrote a mini-review of it earlier this year as an add-on to another post (see “Point of View“).  I had ended it saying, “Now my biggest complaint about The Voice is that they didn’t send me two copies.  I want to share it, but I want to enjoy it myself.”

I succumbed.  I gave my hard copy away when I saw that could get another free copy from Booksneeze, a bloggers book review program that does not require me to write a positive review.  My original copy went to the pastor of the church we attend.

If you’re hoping for a serious study Bible, you’ll be disappointed.  Honestly, though, aren’t there a gazillion study Bibles out there?

If you’re looking for a strict translation of the Bible, you’ll probably be disappointed, too.  There are literal translations out there.  Go find one of those.

If you’re looking for a Bible that draws you into the story, puts you right there when Jesus heals the blind man, or when the woman touches the hem of his garment, you’ll love it.

The Voice is meant to bring the Bible to life, to tell the story the way a storyteller would, or a troubadour, relishing the beauty of the story itself as well as the words used to tell it.  Those who contributed to The Voice were not just Biblical scholars, but were poets, musicians, and storytellers.

If you can’t tell, I love it.  Absolutely love it.

Published in: on June 2, 2012 at 9:24 AM  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://hotdogsandmarmalade.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/the-voice-a-book-review/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. There probably are a gazillion different study bibles out there!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 353 other followers

