Life Cycle

First we are children to our parents, then parents to our children, then parents to our parents, then children to our children.

- Milton Greenblatt

my mother as child to her parents
(my mother is on the far left, sitting in front of her father, with her mother behind him)

my mother as parent to her children
me as child to my parents

my mother as a parent to her parent

me as a parent to my children

my mother as child to her children
(I prepared lunch and she had arranged her potato chips on the table into a smile, just like a small child might have done.)
I am now the parent to my parent.

10 thoughts on “Life Cycle

  1. Don’t you wonder what we were all laughing about?! And that is the most marvelous picture of Mom … she’s just so … joyful! Sigh.

  2. Poignant pictures that tell a very vivid and sad story. I’ve walked this road and I know the feelings well but as you’ve said before. We continue to care for them and show up to see them because we love them regardless of their current condition.

  3. Truly a cycle. Dad and I worked on his scrapbook together yesterday. He loves to use scissors, but I worried the entire time that he was going to cut his fingers. He is childlike in many ways.

    • You’ve become a parent to your parent…. It would seem rather strange to get an adult a pair of safety scissors, but maybe that’s a temporary solution.

Leave a Reply

